Thousands of Edo residents agog as INEC declares Godwin Obaseki winner of governorship election

By Bright Olorungbotemi

Thousands of Edo residents alongside members of the Peoples Democratic party(PDP) on Sunday thronged the INEC state office, No 3, Benin Auchi Road, Benin city and in other major towns of the state took to the street to celebrate as Governor Godwin Obaseki, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, scored the highest votes in Saturday’s Edo State governorship election.


The result of the election held in all Edo’s 18 local governments was declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday in Benin, the state capital.

VOICE AIR MEDIA obtained that residents dancing and shouting "Nah God win" after INEC formally declared Mr Obaseki of PDP as the winner of the election.

Mr Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his main rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 223,619 votes.

Obaseki, Iyamu (Photo extracted from Premium Times)

Mr Obaseki also won in 13 of the 18 local government areas and thus scored more than 25 per cent of votes cast in two-thirds of the local governments in the state to satisfy the second constitutional requirement to be declared governor.

Mr Obaseki won his first election in 2016 as a candidate of the APC, principally supported by Adam Oshiomole, the immediate past governor and former chairman of the APC. Mr Ize-Iyamu was then the candidate of the PDP.

But in the course of his term as the governor, Mr Obaseki became estranged with Mr Oshiomole, causing an epic political battle now capped off with his victory today.

The battle contributed to the fall of Mr Oshiomole as the chairman of the APC. But Mr Obaseki also could not get that party’s ticket and he had to switch to the PDP with his deputy, Phillip Shaibu.

Days ahead of the election, APC leader and former governor of Lagos, Bola Tinubu, had in a recorded broadcast made an “appeal” to the Edo electorate to “reject” Mr Obaseki, whom he dismissed as having no sound democratic credential.

Mr Obaseki won 13 Local Government Areas, including his home Oredo LGA, which is the largest. Mr Ize-Iyamu, on the other hand, picked the remaining five LGAs, including his main backer Mr Oshiomole’s Etsako West.

Mr Ize-Iyamu lost his home LGA of Orhionmwon.

Saturday’s election was not without incidents of ballot snatching, over voting technical glitches affecting card readers, and violence reported in a few polling units by returning officers during the collation exercise.

These incidents caused the cancellation of votes in some polling units.

A total of 14 parties contested the election but PDP and APC are the main parties.

The election was conducted with compliance to some COVID-19 protocol as officials were seen conducting thermal checks and requiring voters to use face masks before voting. However, there was no social distancing anywhere.

Results below...

Esan North East      6,556 13,579
Esan Central           6,719 10,794
Igueben                 5,199 7,870
Ikpoba Okha         18,218 41,030
Uhunmwonde       5,972 16,741
Egor                      10,202 27,621
Owan East            19,295 14,762
Owan West          11,193 11,485
Esan South East   9,237 10,565
Etsako West        26,140 17,959
Oredo                18,365 43,498
Ovia North East  9,907 16,987
Esan West          7,189 17,434
Akoko Edo        22,963 20,101
Etsako East        17,011 10,668
Etsako Central   8,359 7,478
Orhiaonmwon     10,458 13,445
Ovia South West 10,636 12,659.

        NOTE: You Can Reach Us on FLASH POINT
             For your;   
And General News.
                                ALSO, You Can Partner with us, To Cover your Event, Advertise your Business & Products, Campaign, Promotion (Birthday, Naming, Burial etc) and many others..
                           📲 WhatsApp/Call: 08072633727 / 08104964100 [email protected]

No comments

After Dropping your comment, Wait for few minutes, your comments will appear below!!!