Ondo 2020: INEC Unveils Full List Of Candidates, Deputies For Guber Poll

          By Tunde Olorungbotemi

INEC Chairman with specimen

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has unveiled the list of 17  cleared candidates and their running mates as well as parties running for the governorship election in Ondo State.

In a statement released on Friday by INEC’s National Commissioner and Chairman of Information and Voter Education Committee, Mr Festus Okoye.


This followed the weekly regular meeting of the electoral umpire on Thursday which deliberated on the conduct of the election scheduled for October 10 and other outstanding elections in the country, he explained.

Mr Okoye said that INEC had published the provisional list of candidates comprising 17 political parties for the governorship election in Ondo on July 31.

He explained that in line with Section 35 of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) and as provided in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities released February 6, withdrawal and substitution of candidates ended at 6pm on August 18.

“Four political parties that earlier made valid nominations have substituted their candidates.

“The African Democratic Congress (ADC), Action Democratic Party (ADP) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) withdrew and substituted their deputy governorship candidates while the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) substituted both its governorship and deputy governorship candidates,” the statement read.

The spokesman of INEC stated that the commission has published the final list of nominated candidates at its state and local government offices in Ondo.

According to him, the list is also available on INEC’s website and social media platforms.

Mr Okoye urged various political parties, candidates in the election, and the people of the state to check the final list of candidates.

Rotimi Akeredolu(APC), Agboola Ajayi(ZLP) and Eyitayo Jegede (PDP)

Those cleared by INEC to contest in the election include the incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN who is seeking reelection for a second term, and his deputy, Hon. Agboola Ajayi, who was substituted after joining the former governor of the state, Olusegun Mimiko in ZLP to unseat the governor.

Also, the commission cleared Eyitayo Jegede, SAN, Rotimi Akindejoye, Joshua Adewole, Adeleye Peter, Adelegan Oluwaseyi, Martin Olatuteru-Olagbegi, and Olowoloba Dele, among others.

•You can share a story, campaign, also invite us for Interviews, To cover your events like conferences, Annual General Meetings, ceremonies, Advertise your Business and promote yourself... etc.
Kindly contact us on: 08072633727 or email: [email protected] for business relationship.

No comments

After Dropping your comment, Wait for few minutes, your comments will appear below!!!