Breaking: Buhari nominates two journalists, 40 others as ambassadors (Full List)

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday sent a letter to the Senate requesting it to screen and confirm 41 non-career and one career ambassadors for appointment.

Buhari’s letter of request was read on the floor at plenary by the Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

On the list are at least two senior journalists, namely, outgoing
Editor-in-Chief of The Guardian, Debo Adesina; and former Editor of THISDAY on Sunday, Oma Djebah, one-time Commissioner for Information in Delta State.

Adesina was mentioned as one of the two ambassadorial nominees from Oyo State – the other being Ms Folakemi Akinyele. Djebah is to represent Delta State.

Other nominees include; Engr. Umar Suleiman, Mandama (Adamawa) Oboro Emong Akpablo (Akwa Ibom), Chief Elejah Onyeagba (Anambra), Abubakar D. Ibrahim Sryi (Bauchi), Philip K lkumsi (Bayelsa).

Others are Hon. Arzoor Terhemen, Paul Oga Adikwu (Benue) and Ibrahim Al-Hussain (Borno).

President Buhari, in his letter, stated: “In accordance to section 171 (1), (2)(c) and sub-section (4) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate the underlisted forty-one (41) names of nominees as Non-Career ambassadors-designate.”

He equally sought accelerated consideration of the nominees.

No comments

After Dropping your comment, Wait for few minutes, your comments will appear below!!!